top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSamantha

5 Things I Learnt at ZINC:

Hello friends,

As many of you probably know, I recently finished working for Zinc as an Independent Consultant. I emailed Marci, the founder and principal, during the school year asking if there were any projects I could do during the Summer. I was looking to increase my knowledge and practice public relations. I was so lucky that she said yes. I really grew in my confidence, skills, and understanding while working for her. She is also just such an amazingly kind lady, so it was a pleasure to work beside her. My tasks that I were assigned included: researching and coming up with questions for an interviewee, making a media list, and creating "Zinc-y" social media content. I am so grateful for this experience and had such a lovely time helping out at a PR and communications company.


Work Samples: top row is the research, bottom row is the media list, and the right column is the social media planning.


Now without any further delay, here are 5 things that I learnt at Zinc:


1) How to make a media list and how to write up an invoice.


2) Make folders for every project you work for and include EVERYTHING from that project in it. Include goals, contracts, first drafts, results, earned media, stats, everything. Do this for every project and it will soon become a hefty portfolio. Marci showed me a bunch of hers, and wow was I impressed; not to mention completely fascinated with all of the contents inside.


3) Marci's process of building up her company and how she brought more people on. Basically, the general dynamics of how business is run. It was also really interesting to listen in on her meetings, goal setting, and phone calls.


4) I learnt a bit about venture capitalism. This is a funny point because it is so outside of my typical interests, but, being in public relations means that you have to become an instant expert on whatever topic you are working on. For me, I experienced this during my interview research for an event where the interviewee was a young venture capitalist.


5) The four goals of Twitter: to brag, show knowledge, share about culture (for potential employees to see), and show where you are located.



I really enjoyed working for Marci and I learnt a lot during my time at Zinc. What is your favorite work experience and what did it teach you?

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page